Clinical Webinar - Thursday, October 19, 2017

1 PM EDT / 12 PM CDT / 11 AM MDT / 10 AM PDT

Golden Hour: Umbilical Cord Management

Course Overview

The golden hour originally was used to refer to the hour after traumatic injury during which critical interventions and management were most effective for optimal outcome. Over the past several years now, the concept of the golden hour has been used in relationship to delivery of premature or compromised infants. This presentation will briefly discuss target areas for intervention and then focus in on management of the umbilical cord. There have been several studies now evaluating the optimal timing and method of umbilical cord clamping. This literature and practical application of it will be presented and discussed. The presentation will conclude with a discussion of an implementation process.

Course Objectives

  • Discuss the golden hour concept with focus on delayed umbilical cord clamping.
  • Identify theoretical and evidence-based benefits and risks to early and late cord clamping.
  • Describe steps in implementing a change in practice for delayed cord clamping or cord milking.
NANN-photo,-2017.gif

Sandra Sundquist Beauman

RN, CNS

Research coordinator for Neonatal Research Network, NICHD

University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center

Financial Disclosure Statement:The speaker has no relevant financial or non-financial disclosures

Registration Form

Please note that registration does not grant CEUs, you must attend the whole course.

National_Association_of_Neonatal_Therapists_logo_short.jpg

This course is offered for 0.1 ASHA CEUs (Intermediate level, Related area).  Learners must complete an entire session of the course to receive CEUs. No partial credit awarded.